Tower of London: Red sea of poppies

Comments 50 Standard

Everyone has seen photos of the beautiful bed of blood-red ceramic poppies surrounding the Tower of London, however do you know why they are there? It is in honor of the 100th anniversary of the beginning of World War I. The art installation was created by ceramic artist Paul Cummins and is titled ” The Blood Swept Lands and Seas of Red”. The location for this incredible installation is fitting not just because of its enormous space, but it is where many of the brave men were recruited and enlisted. It is made up of 888,246 individual poppies, each one represents a British solider that lost his life in World War I. Although created by Paul Cummins they were installed by a team of over 8,000 volunteers from across the UK.

The beginning of the planting started on August 5th and the last poppy will be planted on Armistice Day, which is November 11th, 2014. These iconic poppies are for sale, with the profits from every purchase going to six different service charities which are Confederation of Service Charities COBSEO, Combat Stress, Coming Home, Help for Heroes, Royal British Legion and SSAFA (Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen and Families Association). It is expected to raise millions for these worthy causes! It costs £25 a flower and you can buy them at the official Tower of London Remembers website.

IMG_2817

TL1

IMG_2827

IMG_2815

IMG_2833 uk

50 thoughts on “Tower of London: Red sea of poppies

  1. Great story to share Christine, thank you. I am sure the will sell them all before Armistice in memory of those who fought for our freedom.

    Like

  2. I hadn’t heard of this. And I didn’t know that poppies could be red! They really look dazzling. I think it’s a fitting tribute to the WWI centennial.

    Like

  3. It was al over the press and TV when Prince Henry visited the field of poppies (then still work in progress), so I can’t imagine that people aren’t aware of the connection.

    Like

  4. Wow, that looks amazing! It’s really beautiful way to remember World War I. In Poland we have a song called The Red Poppies on Monte Cassino. It is about World War II but still poppies are symbol of sacrifice. We should remember that war is bad and it should never happen again.

    Like

  5. Beautiful images and beautiful meaning! So wish I’d made the effort to see this when I was down last weekend (too busy having afternoon tea!). Maybe an excuse to go back hey 🙂

    Like

  6. How beautiful, inspiring and very sad. It is hard to see a visual representation of all those lost in the war. Thank you for sharing it with the world.

    Like

  7. How funny, I just wrote about this today, too! I think it looks spectacular, it’s such a great way to commemorate the centenary. I know one of the Beefeater’s at the Tower (my Dad works at a military base here, tho’ he’s a civilian & we know him through that), and he did the Honour Call last night! Just a coincidence that I wrote about it at the same time 🙂

    Like

  8. Very cool! Those photos are so surreal. They almost look like paintings. Thats amazing he’s able to make them out of ceramic. It must be an incredible amount of work!

    Like

  9. This looks so beautiful and what a touching tribute. Thanks for sharing the story behind this. I just love how the red pops. I’ve seen pictures on Instagram but glad to see more of it.

    Like

  10. Wow beautiful and very interesting we have been there many times but I never knew the red poppies had any meaning other than decoration! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  11. Wow very beautiful and so colourful. I never knew this happened. Very touching tribute that everyone can get involved in. Thank you for sharing Christine. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment