Leaping into the Khwae Noi River to be carried by the water current!

Comments 25 Standard

Imagine jumping off a bamboo raft into a strong water current which pulls you all the way down a river and the only way to get out is by trying to latch onto a dock at the end! That is exactly what I did at Saiyoke Yai Waterfall and National Park, when I went on a huge bamboo raft which floated along the Khwae Noi river flowing through Thailand. The raft itself was being towed by a tiny boat which had a long rope attached. I couldn’t believe it! We definitely made some turns that I thought were going to send us on a collision course into the trees!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This tiny boat was pulling…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This HUGE raft!!

The day started off easy going, as we floated along the river taking in the breathtaking scenery on our approach to the Sai Yok waterfall. There were other small waterfalls along the way which just added to the beautiful river which is surrounded by mountains and forests. From the looks of it, you would think we were in the middle of the jungle, but it is actually a forest! 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

r1

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

r2

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Eventually, everyone decided it would be fun to jump off the boat and let the strong current bring them to the other end of the river! I had three main concerns 1. the water was extremely deep. I had a life vest on, but it was still scary! Plus of course I got stuck with a child size one at first until I found the last adult size! Ha.. Only me. 2. who knew what was swimming around in the water! 3. What if I don’t grab onto the dock at the end of the river in time? Do they happen to have a speedboat to come and chase me? Despite my concerns I figured, how often am I going to get an opportunity to experience something like this? So off I jumped!!

r4

r5

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

My child sized life jacket!

The current was strong so it carried me along the river without much effort on my end. I have to say, that despite my initial concerns it was incredibly fun! It was strong enough to carry me but not too strong that I was worried about drowning. The highlight for me was when I floated under the the Sai Yok waterfall, which is the most popular attraction of the Sai Yok Nationa Park. Then I floated straight to the dock. It was a little tricky trying to grab onto the dock and pull myself up, because the current was pushing me pretty hard, but I managed it in the end!

r6

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

25 thoughts on “Leaping into the Khwae Noi River to be carried by the water current!

  1. Pingback: Leaping into the Khwae Noi River to be carried by the water current!

  2. AHHH this look like it was SO AWESOME to be there. Such an adventure. I’m a huge sucker for waterfalls, but i totally feel you about being concerned about jumping in the water as far as conditions and current…and maybe water snakes? eh? Even tubing in Oregon or NorCal rivers it can be a little scary because you don’t want to miss the bend if it’s time to get out. BUT it looks like you had a lot of fun and you made it back alright! 🙂

    Like

  3. Those waterfalls look so much fun to swim in, plus with the added fear factor of drifting too far giving it an extra kick! When you said ‘raft’ I was expecting something tiny, not a massive pontoon, ha ha! Glad you had fun.

    Like

  4. These pics brought back so many great memories of my first time there too! And you even got the ubiquitous awesome waterfall shower shot! Haha! My version of a bamboo raft wasn’t pulled by a motorboat though, it was paddle power all the way with a raft that kept trying to come apart unless we periodically tightened up the rope and two fat Geordies at the back shouting ‘way ay me trainers are getting wet like!’ Good times! Haha!

    Like

  5. Looks awesome – love the actions shots of you guys jumping in! Got to love South East Asia and it’s complete lack of health and safety regs!

    Like

  6. Wow! That looks like so much FUN! I would love to try that tire swing from the boat into the river. Sign me up! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

