Overcoming my fear of heights via helicopter

Comments 10 Standard

My favorite part of our Iceland trip was going on a helicopter tour with Helo Iceland. It was an amazing experience! I am extremely afraid of heights so for me it was a fear that I had to overcome. At first when my friends approached me on the idea I wasn’t too thrilled. I have always had this fear, I can’t even stand too close to windows in buildings that are high. I get so nervous I start to shake! I really wanted to go to see the beautiful views from above but I was worried my fear would hold me back. After a lot of debating I went on Helo Iceland’s website and started looking at the photos that have been taken on their tours. It made me realize what a great opportunity I would be passing up. I know that I might not get a chance to come back to Iceland and I knew I would regret it if I didn’t go.

The day of the trip I was nervous all morning. The closer we got to the Helo Iceland, the more afraid I got! While we waited in the lobby everyone was talking, enjoying beverages and relaxing but I just stood around letting my worrisome thoughts get the best of me. I started debating if it was too late to back out. What if I freak out while we are mid-air? As my shakes started up, our pilot came out to meet with us. I started to ramble about my fear of heights but he helped put me a bit at ease, reassuring me with his sense of humor and friendly personality. Then we started to walk out towards the helicopter. It’s time! Here we go! 

IMG_1003

IMG_1240

Our captain!

IMG_1235

IMG_1011

As I buckled up I started to think of other things. What if the ride is bumpy? What if I get motion sickness? What if we crash? What if I hate it? Ahh! What have I gotten myself into? As we took off the ride was incredibly smooth so I wasn’t worried about getting motion sickness anymore. Whew! One worry crossed off! Then I looked out the window and my heartbeat started to slow down as I saw the most amazing view I have ever seen! I got so caught up in the scenery that my fear started to subside. This was truly a once and a lifetime experience and I can’t believe I almost passed it up because of my fear of heights! That day taught me a valuable lesson. Don’t let your fears hold you back because you will never know if you are actually afraid of something until you try it. It might not be as bad as you think, you won’t know unless you try! Words cannot express how beautiful the scenery was on the trip so I will let you see for yourself! Hope you enjoy my photos!

IMG_1015

IMG_1028

IMG_1026

IMG_1036

IMG_1059

IMG_1107

IMG_1071

IMG_1093

IMG_1098

We landed on a glacier!

FLoUmozuPkBxQ3qLkjx_rGGri2i4TUkGXNlqR1DAitc,88E9JoadAM0ggWvVqT0-eJh_loQLM7Kw_yUMU0m7gzI

Iceland4
AI3-Y7Gq-KaNNLSnolluwI4yAk7M6E4I09BXJxG-pj4,-koosQpI8W3heWtb2OVJJovdCzTK9N_aVAKEo0MPG6M

IMG_1169

IMG_1110

IMG_1202

IMG_1158

IMG_1195

IMG_1125

IMG_1121

Iceland2

IMG_1199

Thank you to Helo Iceland for providing our tour. All opinions are, as always, my own. 

10 thoughts on “Overcoming my fear of heights via helicopter

  1. awesome! I’ve only been on a helicopter once before but loooooved it! Would love to go back to Iceland and take a ride with these guys- your photos are stunning!

    Like

  2. Amazing photos Christine. Good on you for facing your fear. I have been tossing up whether to do a helicopter flights in NZ later in the year. I hate flying in a plane so am mildly terrified about a helicopter. I’ve wanted to do it for years so I think I’m going to have to just bite the bullet and go for it.

    Like

  3. Looks amazing! We did a helicopter tour in Hawaii and I was so scared I don’t remember a thing! Luckily we bought a video of the trip

    Like

  4. Gorgeous photos! It looks like you had some amazing views up there. Taking a helicopter tour over somewhere awesome is on my “must-do” list. Hopefully someday soon!

    Like

  5. This is so brilliant! I have a bad fear of heights too but I challenge myself to face it. Your helicopter ride looks breathtaking, photos are stunning. I’m glad you had the courage to do it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

